Monday, 8 December 2014

Mindmup – (Mind Mapping: eLearning Productivity Online Tool)

Everyone has their own unique way of brainstorming and organising their thoughts and ideas. An effective way this can be accomplished is by creating a mind map, which can be described as a ‘diagram used to represent concepts, ideas, tasks or other items linked to a central theme’. It begins in the centre and bursts out in all directions with your thoughts and ideas. There are several programs, apps and websites that can help you to capture your thoughts and neatly organise them into a mind map. This guide will show you how you can use one such tool called Mindmup to create a mind map for free!

Mindmup has been praised for its simple and intuitive interface which allows a short learning curve. One of the benefits of using Mindmup is that it allows anonymous access therefore users are not required to signup to use their cloud services.

In brief Mindmup combines editing and productivity user interface aspects typical for desktop applications,
 such as keyboard shortcuts, edit history, right-click menus and toolbars, with online application capabilities such as cloud storage, easy sharing and enabling users to embed maps in their web sites

Create your mind map

Go to - https://www.mindmup.com

Click on Create a new map button.

You may then see the following pop to ask you what type of mind map you wish to create.

Otherwise you will then be taken to blank mind map canvas straight away. Double click the node in the middle (central theme) to edit. 


Here is an example of a simple mind map:


You can save your mind map in two ways either quick save button situated in the top left corner:


Or via the File > Save As option:


Select Google Drive from the list and then click Authenticate from the pop window.


Click accept from the next pop up window to confirm you are granting Mindmup access to save to your Google Drive.


The simplest way to work in auto-save mode with Google Drive is to create a collaborative map (see below). You do not necessarily have to collaborate or share it with anyone, just create a map for yourself in this mode to utilise the auto save feature.

To export your mind map click File > Export Map and the select what type of file format you wish to save your mind map in:


If you select PDF you will need to specify the orientation and page size that you wish the mind map to be saved as


After selecting your options click the Export button. Once you have notified that the file is ready click the Click here to open to download the PDF. The link will only be available for 24 hours


Storage capabilities and constraints

Storage options have different constraints and limitations. Here is a comparison of the most important limits.



Images and icons in nodes


You can associate images with each node either as a node icon or a visual description of the content. Images can be positioned behind the text (in the background) or left/right/above/below text. 

The easiest way to add an image to an existing node is to ‘drag and drop’ the image onto a node.

Mindmup will automatically resize the image if it is too large. You can also drag an image onto the map background, and it will become a new child node of the currently selected node.




To edit (reposition / change the size) the image associated with the node, press the ‘I’ key from the keyboard, or select the Icon/Image button in the toolbar: 


You can add or change the image by clicking or dragging a new image into the dashed area.  Ensure Keep Proportions is ticked so that the image scales proportionally according to the original dimensions if you make any change to the height or width.


Please note that you can also use this button to add an image to a text-only node. This is particularly useful for touch devices where you cannot drag and drop images easily. 
  

Working with node attachments

If you have a lot of additional information that you would like to use but cannot display directly on the mind map then consider using the attachment feature that Mindmup offers.

To add an attachment to any node, click on the node that you wish to add a attachment to then click on the paperclip icon in the toolbar or the menu top bar.
In the attachment viewer/editor window enter your additional information relating to the selected node and then click the Save button in the top right corner.


You will then notice that the node now has a small paper clip in the top corner.


Collaborative maps are different - they are auto saved remotely

To set up a collaborative mind map click on Extensions (situated along the menu at the top).



Check the Realtime collaborations tick box and the click the Close button.



Now you will see the collaboration icon appear in the menu:



Click the collaboration icon and select Start.



Give your collaboration session a name and then click on the Start button.


To allow other users access to your mind map click the collaboration icon and the Invite collaborators from the drop down menu.


From the Share with others window enter the email(s) for the people you wish to share the file or folder with. If the person(s) already exist in your contacts you can search for them by typing them into the box.



Next select the type of access you wish to give to the users by clicking the Can edit button:
Can edit - This is the default setting where users can edit the file or folder and share it with others
Can comment - Users can only view and add comments to the file or folder, but can’t edit it
Can view - Users can only view the file or folder but can’t edit or comment on it

Once you have added the people you wish to share the mind map with click the Finished button. The user(s) will then receive an email letting them know you have shared the mind map with them.

If you click Advanced from the Share with others pop up window then you will be able to get a shareable link to your mind map that you can email.

Please note:

Collaborative maps do not store the actual map content. Instead, they store only changes. This makes it effective and safe to remotely auto-save. As multi-user support is built into collaborative maps, it is also safe to autosave when several users work on the same map at the same time. For collaborative maps, autosave is turned on by default, and you don't have to remember to press the Save button. The Save button is disabled, and you will see a spinner in the save button while changes are sent to Google Drive.



Useful shortcuts:

Twitter: @SOASBLETech

2 comments:

  1. There are variety of e-learning strategies. Whatever technique it is, e-learning for me is great.

    ReplyDelete
  2. nice information...Page size determines how long it will take usually for users to open your web page.page size checker tool

    ReplyDelete